PDA

View Full Version : Between buying KooRaRoo or Mezzmo... a couple of issues.



MartinGomez.MG
September 9th, 2014, 11:29 PM
Hi there,

I've tried most DLNA server listed on the Wikipedia DLNA servers comparison page in order to check which works better with my setup (a Samsung 55'' TV UN55F8000) and buy a license for it. Sadly, every server has it's quirks and issues, so there's no clear winner.

I really started to like your server, specially because it transcoded right some files that Mezzmo was corrupting (half screen was green). They were the "Ancient Aliens" seasons, that I think are in a strange format (because every video player struggles with them), but luckily your server transcoded it fine right away.

So, some things that I'm experiencing with your server and that I'd like to know if it would be possible to fix:

1) Thumbnails are displayed awfully small. I've read a couple of thread on this forum (don't have the links right now) with a user that said that they were retrieved as 160x160 and supposedly you were about to push a patch for that. That post was on December 2013. I'm trialing the latest version and it still has the same problem

2) Why can't I skip forward files while they are being transcoded? The same thing happens with Mezzmo, but some other media servers (such as Wild Media Server) allows me to skip EVERY file, even with burnt in subtitles, overlay subtitles; whatever. But with your server, I can't skip if the video is being transcoded

3) I've noticed on the status part of your application that some transcodings that were left running there (I started playing the video, stopped it and the server continued transcoding anyway) show a speed of 7 FPS. Again, other servers blaze away at transcoding those files at 60 ~ 200 FPS according to them. Why is this difference? I'm running a Core 2 Duo 2.5 GHz with 4 GB RAM

Well, I think that's it so far. Please let me know if I could do something to fix this issues and I think I'll get me a license soon!

Thanks in advance

KRR Team
September 11th, 2014, 03:52 AM
Hi Martin and welcome to the forum!

1) Thumbnails - indeed we fixed this back in version 2.3.0. For your TV the thumbnail size currently is set to 640x480 which is quite large. So looks like this is a different issue. I'll see if I can reproduce this and if I can't I'll contact you via PM.
2) Do you mean seek forward or just skip to next video?
3) Hmm, the latest version 2.4.0 is much faster than the previous versions, and it's hard to tell what makes it slower on your machine. Could you note how much time the transcoding takes in reality? Maybe the FPS report is incorrect.

Thank you
-AR

MartinGomez.MG
September 11th, 2014, 04:02 AM
Thanks for your reply AR.

1) The thumbnails show really small (indistinguishable) in the middle of a black square. Let me know if you can reproduce it
2) I mean seek forward and backward :)
3) I'll check it closer and let you know

Thanks!

KRR Team
September 13th, 2014, 02:55 AM
Hi Martin,

1) I'll try to reproduce this issue
2) Frankly I'm not sure how you can seek through the file while it gets transcoded. For some formats it might be possible (like old MPEG), but for most of them the transcoding needs to be finished before you can seek. I'll see how Wild Media server works, thank you for the hint.

-AR

rward1953
October 9th, 2014, 07:49 AM
I'm actually looking at the alternative possibilities for media servers too, and presently own Mezzmo and Serviio.

I tried to use your server in trial, to compare the servers, but after a few days your server started constantly crashing.

I more or less gave up on it, as I thought there may have been a conflict with either Mezzmo, or Serviio, and never really got any idea how they compare.

I wouldn't have thought they would have conflicted, but I also stumbled across something with my Mezzmo database. First of all, it appeared that the Kooraroo Server was accessing the Mezzmo database. Unfortunately, it was corrupted, and I think that might have been the problem with the crashes.

In truth, I am still interested in your product, but without a trial period, I can't really make a decision without comparing. Do you have any provision for this kind of thing. Can you reinstate the trial period for me to test your product?

KRR Team
October 11th, 2014, 03:50 AM
Hi rward1953 and welcome to the forum!

Sure, please drop an email to support at kooraroo.com with your name and link to this forum post and I'll extend your license. Thank you

-AR