PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question #1



Jay Brown
March 1st, 2014, 09:50 AM
I just installed the program a couple of days ago and I'm impressed with the software (when it works).

As my subject line indicates, I have a number of questions, but I will post one at a time just in case I find the other answers elsewhere.

So, my sony blue ray player seems to see the server sometimes and others it will not. My network is on the 10.0.0.1 block and the router is serving DHCP, which means that the player should be on that same block. Sometimes, is on the 192.160.x.x network. I recently changed routers and the new Comcast router defaulted to the 10.0.x.x block and I saw no reason to change it.

How can I force the player to pick up an IP from the router rather than some legacy coming from thin air?

Dennis
March 1st, 2014, 12:27 PM
You could set the IP on the player manually, rather than using DHCP. Just make sure it's high enough, so that it's not potentially used by something else on the network (if another device comes into the network and connects using DHCP from router).

Jay Brown
March 2nd, 2014, 05:03 AM
So simple, I'm embarrassed that I didn't think of that.

Thanks for the help. Works like a carm.