PDA

View Full Version : Trouble with Embedded Subtitles in MKV

Option
August 1st, 2013, 03:08 PM
Hello, I'm pretty new to world of DLNA streaming and video file types (started learning last night) so please forgive me if I'm misunderstanding some concepts or using the wrong terminology.

I've recently tried to use my LG 55LW5600 TV to watch videos from my computer using some free Nero DNLA software that came with the TV. So far, I've had a lot of problems playing MKV file types and I'm glad to say that using KooRaRoo has resolved most of the issues. The only problem left is a big one though. For some reason, I am not able to get subtitles to display on the TV but they work fine on my computer. The only subtitles I can get on the TV are on AVI files and I think those subtitles are burned into the video stream. The MKV files however have two subtitle options in ASS format which is embedded in the container (not an external file).

I am using the free version of KooRaRoo so the Burn option is not available but according the the product comparison page, the free version is supposed the play embedded subtitles. Does it only play those embedded subtitles if the device supports it? (obviously my LG TV does not) If not, then if I buy the full version, will the Burn feature work directly from the embedded ASS file or do I need to somehow get an external subtitle file?

I hope that makes sense but please let me know if you need any additional info or clarification. Thank you!

Dennis
August 1st, 2013, 04:38 PM
Hello,